Parts of Indian Constitution

Original Indian Constitution had 22 parts and 395 articles. Later 3 parts were added to it as amendments making the tally 25.

An overview of Indian Constitution Parts and Articles is provided in this short post.

Parts of Indian Constitution

The parts of the Indian Constitution along with Subject and Articles they cover are given below.

Part IThe Union and its territoryArt. 1 to 4
Part IICitizenshipArt. 5 to 11
Part IIIFundamental RightsArt. 12 to 35
Part IVDirective PrinciplesArt. 36 to 51
Part IVAFundamental DutiesArt. 51A
Part VThe UnionArt. 52 to 151
Part VIThe StatesArt. 152 to 237
Part VIIRepealed by Const. (7th Amendment) Act, 1956
Part VIIIThe Union TerritoriesArt. 239 to 242
Part IXThe PanchayatsArt. 243 to 243O
Part IXAThe MunicipalitiesArt. 243P to 243ZG
Part IXBCo-operative SocietiesArt. 243H to 243ZT
Part XThe Scheduled and Tribal AreasArt. 244 to 244A
Part XIRelations between the Union and the StatesArt. 245 to 263
Part XIIFinance, Property, Contracts and SuitsArt. 264 to 300A
Part XIIITrade, Commerce and Intercourse within the Territory of IndiaArt. 301 to 307
Part XIVServices under the Union and the StatesArt. 308 to 323
Part XIVATribunalsArt. 323A to 323B
Part XVElectionsArt. 324 to 329A
Part XVISpecial provisions relation to certain classesArt. 330 to 342
Part XVIIOfficial LanguageArt. 343 to 351
Part XVIIIEmergency ProvisionsArt. 352 to 360
Part XIXMiscellaneousArt. 361 to 367
Part XXAmendment of the ConstitutionArt. 368
Part XXITemporary, Transitional and Special ProvisionsArt. 369 to 392
Part XXIIShort title, commencement, authoritative text in Hindi and repealsArt. 393 to 395

Parts of the Indian Constitution added as amendments

Three parts – 9A Municipalities, 9B Co-operative societies and 14A tribunals – are added to the original constitution via amendments.

Various articles were also added under these 25 parts of Indian constitution as amendments. At present, the total article count is around 450.

Leave a Reply